Musings on Photography

911

Posted in Uncategorized by Paul Butzi on September 11, 2008

5D-080822-6447
Today is September 11th, 2008. Seven years ago, at almost exactly this time of day, I was typing at my computer. My daughter came down for breakfast, and told me that she’d had the radio on, and the announcer had said that a plane had flown into the World Trade Center. Not understanding, I told her that small private aircraft had hit tall buildings before, but she looked confused and insisted that the radio guy had specifically said ‘passenger jet’. Still not understanding, we shuffled the kids off to school. About an hour later, I turned on the TV and watched one tower collapse. I still didn’t understand.

That was just the beginning of my not understanding.

I wonder if, by the time my life comes to an end, we will be able to understand the magnitude of the loss.

Comments Off on 911

