Musings on Photography

Photo Garden #1

Posted in Uncategorized by Paul Butzi on October 11, 2008

5D-081008-6458
One of the things I’m working on is getting past the ‘The subject of any plant photograph must be fresh and pristine’ preconception. We see a flower start to wilt, and we think it’s turned from beautiful to ugly. In fact, often any imperfection in a flower or leaf is seen as a defect. If an insect gnaws a notch in the leaf, we think it’s ruined.

I have a lot of preconceived notions about what makes a suitable subject for a photo, and about how photos should look. I am guessing that most of those notions are wrong, or at least they suffer from the error over-generalization.

If nothing else, my more or less daily sessions near my home are shaking things up.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. JH said, on October 11, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Too much perfection – and the subject could as well have been made of plastic.

  2. Robert said, on October 11, 2008 at 11:11 am

    Old, young, wilted, fresh, solo, together, complementary or contrasted… they’re all worth at least a look.

    I think it’s great to hear that others get so much out of photographing their immediate domain. Poking around my tiny yard is a great way for me to stay connected to photography when time or inspiration are running short. I love it when I’m surprised by what I see.

  3. Anita Jesse said, on October 11, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    I always enjoy your photographs, but this is one of my favorites. This one gave me a lump in my throat.

  4. AlunFoto said, on October 12, 2008 at 2:35 am

    I’ve been pondering the same thoughts lately. Around my house the time of autumn splendour is already past its prime.
    The fading colours carries its own kind of beauty. More compelling than the “perfect specimen” in many ways.

    Best,
    Jostein

  5. Gordon McGregor said, on October 13, 2008 at 5:24 am

    Along similar lines is ‘Small Deaths’ by Kate Breakey

  6. Jeremy said, on October 15, 2008 at 5:55 am

    I’ve slowly been developing a series on dead and dying flowers, but they’re not yet ready for public consumption. Your post encourages me.


Comments are closed.

