Musings on Photography

z3100 sleep mode, more info

Posted in hp z3100, z3100 by Paul Butzi on October 12, 2008

5D-081008-6463
Tom Quinn dropped me another email, this time suggesting that the reason the z3100 was never going into sleep mode was that software running on his mac was keeping it awake. Tom suggested testing this by unplugging my z3100 from my network.

I gave it a try. The printer went to sleep.

I will run a few more experiments based on this info, I think.

UPDATE: Tom says that his theory is that if you uncheck ‘monitor’ in the printer monitor preferences, that will let the printer sleep. He also reports that when asleep, the printer consumes 22 watts, and he feels that’s rather high (I agree). When turned off but plugged in, he reports, the printer consumes 2 watts.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rhoehne said, on October 13, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    22 watts for a sleep mode is pretty bad, what is it consuming when not in sleep mode and not actually printing?

  2. Tony said, on September 28, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I have confirmed that having a z3100 in the hp printmonitor list will keep the printer from going to sleep if that printer is a bonjour printer (monitored or not).

    Having the IP based version of the same printer on the list (unmonitored) and deleting the bonjour printer let my z3100 get some much needed sleep.


Comments are closed.

