Musings on Photography

Seattle Seen

Posted in Blogroll, Photo Garden, process by Paul Butzi on October 13, 2008

5D-081008-6467

I’ve been a avid follower of Oren Grad’s Things Seen photoblog for quite a while. It’s not your ‘every photo is a big, glorious Photoshop wonder’ blog, I think it’s more of a quiet “here’s what I saw” blog. I grew up on the East Coast of the US, and many of the photos are in locations on the East Coast, so there’s a certain resonance there that I find rewarding as a viewer. The locations move around, though. It’s been interesting to see photos of places that I’ve visited, and photos of places I haven’t.

So I was startled and delighted when photos appeared from Seattle, a city that’s not far from my home, and which I know well. (Start here and browse forward for the Seattle photos)

And the interesting thing is that Seattle doesn’t look the same through Oren’s eyes as it does through mine. I don’t much care for cities, and if I were to make photos in Seattle in the locations Oren did, my photos would not look much like Oren’s. I’m not saying Oren’s are good, or that mine would be bad. I’m observing that they would be different, and that’s got me thinking. Fun thinking. Interesting thinking.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gordon McGregor said, on October 13, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    I always like that aspect of shooting things that other photographers also shoot. The interesting images are in the differences and how we see things, not in the things we see the same.

  2. Gordon McGregor said, on October 14, 2008 at 4:32 am

    I’m now trying to get a group of people together to go and explore this idea. Walk around together and shoot the same locations and see how we see it totally differently (or not)

  3. Jeremy Moore said, on October 14, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    We’ve been doing locally here in Texas, Gordon. A few photogs get together and go on a PhotoWalk as we have taken to calling them. It lasts about 2-3 hours and then get together again in ~2 weeks and have a digital slideshow. It’s really interesting to see the things that never caught your eye at all (“Where was that?!”) or the scenes/images that are very similar, but strikingly different.


Comments are closed.

