Musings on Photography

Adobe Cross Platform Upgrades

Posted in photoshop by Paul Butzi on October 16, 2008

5D-081008-6487

Adobe have shipped the CS4 versions of Photoshop et al. So some number of photographers all over will be purchasing upgrades from CS3, or whatever version they’re using. I’m probably among them.

It seems to me that every direction I turn, I’ve been finding people who are switching platforms from Windows to Mac.

So I’d just like to remind people that, although Adobe will happily sell you a cross platform upgrade, when you buy it you may find yourself in the same #$%&*&^%$%^&* screwed up situation that I found myself in. It’s not a good place to be. Trust me on this.

I’d suggest that it makes more sense to ask Adobe to give you a cross platform copy of the version you currently have. Install that on your shiny new Mac. Then buy the Mac upgrade to that, and you won’t find yourself in the unfortunate situation where you need to call Adobe to install on another machine (like your laptop) or wipe a machine and reinstall.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. George said, on December 4, 2008 at 11:06 am

    I just did this process – they will only sell you the upgrade. It is impossible to get an older version to cross-platforms. (I have CS2.) I was required to buy the CS4 upgrade. That being said, they are shipping the full version of CS4 for the upgrade price so I don’t need to do the upgrade process; just a full-version install.


Comments are closed.

