Musings on Photography

Getting ready

Posted in Photo Garden, process by Paul Butzi on October 20, 2008

5D-081008-6510
Today I’m busy making a bunch of prints, which I’ll need tomorrow when I do my more or less regular print review with my friend Alex.

I did a lot of printing over the summer, and it seems I’m a bit burned out on it now. Strangely, I seem to be going through a period where actually getting the image onto paper is not as important as it once was. I’m not sure what to think about that.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My Camera World said, on October 20, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Hi Paul:

    While I never participated in the wet darkroom printing process I would imagine that the actual printing was proof that the image finally works.

    With the digital darkroom and especially if using proofing tools then there might less of a need to confirm the image works on paper as the monitor can come close and therefore there less of a need to get it on paper.

    I do find especially for B&W when using the rag papers that there is still a little need for fine visual tweaking to get just the way you want.

    Niels Henriksen

  2. Guy said, on October 20, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    When you do anything long enough you’re bound to get burned out. It’s sometimes liberating to take a hiatus even from things that are very meaningful to you. I trust that you’re passionate enough about printing that it will call back to you when you’re ready for it.

    Guy

  3. Alex said, on October 20, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    I seem to be the same way…more or less because I can’t afford to print anything as I spent all my money on the camera & because I have no place to store pictures besides the computer. I do though take advantage of photobucket, flickr & fotki so even if I don’t print them, far more people can view them than if I just printed them alone. Not that I have any good pictures up publicly LOL…I reserve the best for my “flickr friends”…I know how common it is for images to be stolen, so even with watermarking I’m nervous about it. Though hopefully someday I’ll be a famous photographer and I won’t need to watermark because everyone will know it’s mine! =p wishful thinking, I know, but it never hurts to hope! Sorry for blabbering on!

  4. […] process, web — ejeschke @ 9:20 pm Paul Butzi mentions on his blog he’s getting a little burned out on printing lately.  Me, I’m ramping up again after a long drought of little printing.  And I’m really […]


Comments are closed.

