Musings on Photography

Winter

Posted in Photo Garden by Paul Butzi on December 9, 2008

5D-081208-6787-1
I had expected that as the seasons changed and all the foliage came off the trees, my interest in the photo garden would start to wane.

It’s true that the amount of time I’ve spent with a camera in hand has fallen off considerably, but that’s more due to the change in the weather (lots of rain, now) and the drastically shortened daylight hours (sunrise at 7:45am today, sunset at 4:16pm this afternoon). We’ve only less than two weeks to go to the solstice, and then things turn around. I can wait two weeks, but it’s not easy for me.

But the same subject matter is there. Well, it’s not quite the same, but there’s still subject matter there – the same trees but dressed differently. The same plants, but now on the ground decaying. To be honest it looks a mess but somehow the camera seems to coax order out of the dead leaves and the bare branches.

It’s not quite stick pictures yet. Maybe in a month or two. In the meantime, I’m still having fun using the microtome of f/2.8 at 100mm full frame to slice through the world around me.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. julie said, on December 11, 2008 at 4:43 am

    I could have written that same thing, I know exactly where you’re coming from. Love it. And even on the days when you go out shooting despite the heavy, damp weather, it still seems to show you something new and beautiful every time you look through that lens – I love your phrase “to slice through the world around me” – it seems to fit very well indeed.


Comments are closed.

