Musings on Photography

Cold

Posted in whimsy by Paul Butzi on December 16, 2008

5D-081028-6664.jpg

Sigh. It was very cold here – on 16F just before sunrise this morning, and only 27F at 3pm.

Too cold for me to spend much time outside. It’s so cold that Kodak has adopted the following routine:

1. Tell me he wants to go outside.

2. I let him outside after warning him it’s very cold.

3. After about 3 minutes outside, he concludes that it’s not just cold right by the door, it’s cold everywhere outside.

4. Whine and bark to come inside.

5. I let him inside. He gives me a dirty look, as if I’m responsible for not turning on the outside heat.

6. He lays down for a few minutes, then gets up and looks out the window. It looks nice outside, and he’s not cold, so he returns to step 1.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. David said, on December 16, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Reminds me of our cat who thought just because it was raining when she went out the front door that the weather might be better different if she went out the back door

  2. Anita Jesse said, on December 16, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    I know this routine! Thanks for a good laugh.

    As for the cold: you are an old hand at this by now, but I’m a rookie and taken a bit off guard. I’m way too close to being in Kodak country when it comes to judging the weather. It looks so lovely out and the sun is shining, why not bop on out there for a few shots. Wait this can’t be right.

  3. matt said, on December 17, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Yeah, why haven’t turned on the outside heat? Cheapskate.

    FWIW, it’s been 11 here the last three days when I stepped outside for 30 minute walk to work. Stopping to take photos along the way is somewhat reduced.

  4. forkboy said, on December 17, 2008 at 10:31 am

    With me in charge of the thermostat the dogs probably think it’s warmer outside than inside our house!

  5. chuck kimmerle said, on December 17, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Wow, temps like that would be considered balmy around here. Today is our first day above zero (F) in almost a week. Oddly, at least to some of you, I enjoy shooting in such temps. The air has a different quality when it’s that cold.


Comments are closed.

