Musings on Photography

Snow/Christmas

Posted in local color, Photo Garden, whimsy by Paul Butzi on December 24, 2008

5D-081223-6892.jpg

5D-081223-6894.jpg

5D-081223-6909.jpg

5D-081224-6930.jpg 5D-081224-6922.jpg

We’re buttoned up snug and warm. It’s snowing like mad, so although the forecast is for rain, I’m thinking we’re just getting more snow. I’ll head out in about six hours, to try to rendezvous with the UPS man and collect the metric boatload of packages he has that are destined for us. I’ve been driving the car down the driveway and back every once in a while, just to keep the snow from getting so deep the driveway becomes impassable (there’s no way we’re going to shovel 1000 feet of driveway!) At the rate it’s snowing the main road might be quite the challenge. The rendezvous point is about 2.5 miles away. Hmm. I wish I had a dogsled.

The snow has been mixing things up photographically. The familiar backdrop of the forest has been replaced with this white/gray field. A lot of the stuff I’ve been photographing has been buried under the snow. My photo garden has been transformed!

I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. forkboy said, on December 24, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    And to you and yours as well.

  2. Amy Sakurai said, on December 24, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    These are all cool pictures… and my favorite is #4, followed closely by #3. I like these studies of texture and gentle curves and shading. The contrast of textures in #4 amuses me for some reason.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, Paul! And be careful out there – this is not reasonable driving weather!

  3. Oren Grad said, on December 25, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Very best for the holiday season and new year!

  4. Gordon McGregor said, on December 27, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Merry Christmas and all that. My Christmas this year looks almost exactly the complete opposite of this. I miss snow (or maybe I miss the idea of snow)

  5. julie said, on December 30, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Gorgeous stuff there Paul, lovely to see a slightly different take on your usual stomping ground.

    Hope you enjoy the rest of the holidays…


Comments are closed.

