Musings on Photography

The Second Update Weekend (in which our hero makes modest progress)

Posted in equipment, hp z3100, macintosh, photoshop by Paul Butzi on January 31, 2009

5D-090119-6983.jpg

This weekend, like last weekend, will be at least in part dedicated to making progress on getting Macs upgraded to 10.5. Bear in mind that the problems so far have nothing to do with getting the Macs upgraded (said upgrade being a smooth process) but with getting the HP Z3100 working smoothly on the upgraded machine.

I have now fallen back to the least desirable path, which is to make a clean install of 10.5 on the Mac Pro, and then get the printer working, and then reinstall all the applications. The big problem will be reinstalling Photoshop, because I will have to jump through the phone call hoops to get Photoshop re-registered.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amy Sakurai said, on January 31, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Condolences. The waste of time unfortunately cannot be avoided – given the current state of software and licensing. (Thanks, Adobe. Not.) I put off doing upgrades until I’m in the right state of mind – a combination of resigned, determined, and patient.

  2. Anita Jesse said, on January 31, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    You certainly have succeeded in scaring the wits out of me. I dread upgrades anyway, now I will be totally paranoid. I hope things turn around soon.


Comments are closed.

