Musings on Photography

SoFoBoMo Hardcore

Posted in Blogroll, Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on March 23, 2009

G9-090103-0737.jpg

I got some email from Sean McCormick, pointing me to this post:

My intention is to spend 48 hours traveling the Neutral Hills – an area of East Central Alberta, Canada – where I will assemble both a written and photographic diary of my trip while covering as much of the area as possible. This diary will be published in book form within a month of the completion of the project as per SoFoBoMo’s rules.

This will be an endurance test for me. I’ve put myself under pressure to produce images before, but I’ve never forced myself to do it over a 48 hour period with no sleep, regardless of weather and lighting conditions. This will be a new experience, which is the point of the exercise; to push myself past old limits and find new ones.

Wow. That’s all I can say about that – Wow. He’s imposing on himself a whole bunch of rules that go way, way beyond the simple SoFoBoMo restrictions. His whole concept is an intriguing study in using restrictions as a way to push yourself further into new artistic areas than you’ve gone before. Go read the whole thing. You’re not going to believe some of the rules he’s setting up.

I’m sure looking forward to seeing how his plans play out.

Comments Off on SoFoBoMo Hardcore

