Musings on Photography

The Moore Theatre

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on May 27, 2009

5D-090521-7277.jpg

The above photo is from my brief effort in the Bullitt Cabaret Theatre at ACT Seattle last week.

Yesterday’s SoFoBoMo photography session was at the Moore Theatre, in Seattle. (http://www.themoore.com/about/history.asp)

It was my first outing using the newly acquired EOS 5d mk II. So far, I’m thinking the camera is awesome.

Box score:

  • time spent on site: 2 hours, 48 minutes
  • # of exposures: 154
  • setups: 64

So that gives me something like one setup every 2 and a half minutes, and an average of 2.4 exposures per setup.

A lot of the multiple exposures were burned fiddling with exposure. There’s some weird interaction between the 5d mk II metering system, live view, and extremes of shift with the 24mm TS-E lens. I’m slowing getting a grip on that but I admit that I burned a lot of exposures hunting for the right shutter speed.

ALL of the exposures were made with the 24mm f/3.5 TS-E lens. For this particular job, it seems to be the right thing.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin Doonan said, on May 27, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Does the new wonder camera not have live histogram on live view? Even cheap pocket cameras manage that.

  2. Paul Butzi said, on May 27, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Yes, live view can be induced to show a histogram. I didn’t realize that yesterday, actually, so I don’t know how much it helps. With big shifts (e.g. the limit of the 24mm TS-E) and long exposures, though, the camera was sometimes recommending very long exposures (longer than 30 seconds) but the results were badly overexposed. I don’t know if this is my fault, the fault of the individual camera I have, or a fault with the design. This seemed to happen mostly when the light level was so low that live view showed a dim image, and it may be that I was switching back to the normal metering system and that’s what caused the problems. Obviously I need to do some practice and testing to really figure this all out, and I haven’t done that. My bad.

    I have noticed, though, that the metering system in every dslr I’ve ever handled sucked in major ways, for no understandable reason.

  3. George Pappas said, on May 27, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Hi Paul,

    I use all of the canon tilt-shift lenses with my Canon 5D and EOS-1V. I find that if I meter with the lens shift/tilt position at Zero, the same exposure works at any shift/tilt setting even though the viewfinder appears to be dimmer. I think it has something to do with the way the film/sensor sees the tilted/shifted light from the lens that is different than the mirror/focusing screen/metering system. As a long time 5×7/8×10/4×5 view camera user, this makes sense to me. I have not had to compensate for lens movements when using a view camera even when the groundglass seemed to be a little dimmer for some movements..

    Hope this helps and thanks for creating Sofobomo. My project kicks off on Sunday..

    Best Regards,
    George Pappas


Comments are closed.

