Musings on Photography

Decoration

Posted in art is a verb by Paul Butzi on June 2, 2009

II-090526-0032.jpg

Just a bit ago, Lisa Call twittered “Why do you buy art?” I twittered back “I buy visual art because it makes my home nice to live in. I buy theatre and books because they make my mind nice to live in.”

I’m constantly amazed at how people will spend thousands of dollars on stuff to decorate their homes and yards, and then refuse to make the slightest effort to improve the interior design of their mind, instead filling it with horrid, ugly rubbish.

You can go on vacation and get away from your home and yard, but when you go, you’re still trapped in the same mind. There are not many things you can’t escape by going somewhere else, but your mind is definitely one of them. Doesn’t it make some sense to invest a little effort to make it a nice place?

People sometimes buy really nice beds, figuring that they spend about 1/3 of their life in bed. You spend 100% of your waking hours in your mind. If improving your bed makes sense, then it makes twice as much sense to improve your mind. If you worry about the pillow on your bed, you ought to invest twice as much concern for the contents of the head you rest on that pillow.

One really nice way to make your mind a nicer place to live, of course, is to make art yourself.

As an interior decoration practice, artmaking is hard to beat.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Debra said, on June 3, 2009 at 2:03 am

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. Everyone should find what their creative streak is and create something.

  2. Bryan Willman said, on June 3, 2009 at 11:08 am

    In addition to living in one’s mind, one lives in one’s body. So doing things to maintain it make one’s life nicer too.

    Given that a great many people ignore this obvious observation and advice (which has been consistent for decades) I am not surprized that people don’t take care of their minds….

  3. Anita Jesse said, on June 3, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    I have long wondered what makes people think that they can stuff their minds with garbage yet leave no toxic fumes behind.

    Your conclusion will stick with me. As usual, an artful turn of phrase that drives the point home with wit and elegance. I like very much thinking of my art-making as interior decorating.

  4. Retired Eagle said, on June 3, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Paul, you sound every bit the philosopher. I am thankful that you are the force behind SoFoBoMo and that its existence came to my attention. I am already working on my fourth photo book since the middle of April. The latest book isn’t for SoFoBoMo as is going to use a set of photos taken last November as well as a second set to be taken next week with the book to be finished before June 30th. Still, I have SoFoBoMo to thank for this.

    It is about making the mind a good place to live in. Check out my daily blog and you will see why this resonates within me.

  5. Rod Graham said, on June 4, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Paul, I agree with your comments here. But what prompted me to post a note here was to ask you about the images you’ve been showing here lately of the theaters. They all have this really attractive tone/color to them: Is that a soft sepia tone?

    Rod

  6. Martin Budden said, on June 5, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    I also buy art because it decorates the world with artists.

    If more people buy art, then more people can afford to work as artists. And that’s a good thing, and not just because of the art they produce.

  7. Paul Butzi said, on June 5, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    I also buy art because it decorates the world with artists.

    Mmm. Yes, it does. And that’s good.


Comments are closed.

