Musings on Photography

My Personal SoFoBoMo status

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on June 6, 2009

5D-090518-7119.jpg

Unlike last year, where I documented pretty much exposure I made for SoFoBoMo, this year I’ve been working away industriously on my own without saying much about it.

Here’s where I am…

I have the book layout mostly done, in InDesign. Much of my books layout is simply lifted from my effort last year. Unlike last year, where I put a lot of thought into the layout, this year I’m mostly interested in generating a book in time for the end of SoFoBoMo, without losing the momentum I have built up for the project overall. I like this empty theatre project, and I see it going on for a long time – much longer than the one month effort for SoFoBoMo.

So I have the book layout done (mostly), and I have a bunch of photos laid in the book, in four sections – one section each for the four theatres I’ve photographed so far. I’ve got roughly 100 photos in the book now. That’s way more than I want for the final book, so I’m busily working on editing that number down.

To top it off, I have another session at yet another theatre scheduled for Monday afternoon. That will give me one more section, and a slew of photographs to add.

Finally, I have a lot of text to write. This is not good news, because the writing part is going very slowly. So far I have written quite a lot, and then throw all but a very small fraction.

I started this whole project on May 18th. I still have plenty of time, but I’m planning on being finished with the book (but not the project) on 14th.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. retiredeagle said, on June 6, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Hi Paul. Like you, the SoFoBoMo book done does not mean that it is really done. I am still working on my second book though it is posted to the challenge site. It appears that there actually may be a chance for its publication outside of self-publishing such as Blurb. I agree, it is the writing that takes the most time. But, I think that a combination of writing and photography is what will make a good photo book a better photo book.


Comments are closed.

