Musings on Photography

17mm TS-E

Posted in equipment by Paul Butzi on July 22, 2009

II-090608-0203.jpg

So, Canon introduced the 17mm TS-E tilt-shift lens. I played with my friend’s 14mm f/2.8L. I fiddled just a bit with his 17-40mm zoom.

The desire for the 14mm is low. The desire for the 17-40 is limited by the distortion. The desire for that 17mm TS-E is, consequently, high.

The price is a bit of an ouch.

It does not help that Canon has released a NEW 24mm TS-E, replacing the model I have. The new one is, of course, nicer than the one I have. The price for that is a bit of an ouch, too.

And all this, combined with the limited availability of the 45mm TS-E and the 90mm TS-E, makes me wonder if those lenses are slated for replacement, too.

This gear lust is a frustrating business.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Les Richardson said, on July 22, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    There is a comment on Northlight.com (in the Canon lenses area), that there are no updates for the 45TSE or 90TSE planned in the near term (next couple of years). I bought a 45TSE from BH, and it is very nice. If only I had the skill to use it well! (grin). I really like the manual focus and the flow of working with this lense. (when out in the wild).

  2. Hugh Alison said, on July 23, 2009 at 12:43 am

    I had the 17-40 zoom – very nice on a crop frame body (20D), but I really disliked the results on full frame (5D). The 35/2.0 was much nicer. Not very scientific I’m afraid.

  3. Billie said, on July 24, 2009 at 8:04 am

    I think all photographers have a Lust List.
    Right now I’m okay but then I just bought the Canon 5D2. That only leaves the Epson 3800 printer on the list.

  4. Ed Richards said, on July 25, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I have a good copy of the Sigma 12-24. It is an amazing lens, sharp and almost distortion free, and not that exensive. My SoFoBoMo was done with it, pretty much all at 12mm as an exercise in learning to see at that width. Like 47mm on 4×5, but with a lot less light fall off.

    Have you gotten to use a 17mm TS yet?

  5. Paul Rotheroe said, on July 30, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I also own the first version of the tilt and shift 24 mm canon lens. I’m happy with it and I’m glad that it isn’t so expensive as the new version. I recently bought the 17-40 mm zoom to take architectural interiors. It distorts but with PT lens you can correct the distortions.


Comments are closed.

