Musings on Photography

Go Ahead, Make My Month

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on July 30, 2009

II-090608-0160.jpg

Light blogging, I know. Most of my attention is going to exploring a non-profit corp for SoFoBoMo.

But this was pretty exciting for me… I just got this email, from Clare Selley:

Dear Paul

I just wanted to say thank you for running SoFoBoMo – it got me to put together a book about my city which has now been accepted for commercial publication (with several tweaks, relayouts, text added, etc!)

Without SoFoBoMo I never would have had the inspiration, drive and target to put the book together and now I’m getting paid for it! I’ll be mentioning the challenge – and the website – in the book’s acknowledgements, I hope you don’t mind me quoting the rules!

~Clare.

That’s just incredibly exciting. I mean, a SoFoBoMo book, accepted for commercial publication.

On behalf of everyone who’s ever participated, I’d like to congratulate Clare. Clare, you are awesome. You are awesomely awesome.

I hope all the folks who’ve participated in SoFoBoMo get a thrill out of this. Every single one of you helped make this happen. SoFoBoMo is about getting a book *done*, not about getting it picked up for commercial publication. But when someone who did a book for SoFoBoMo gets it published, I think we all deserve a big helping of feeling thrilled.

And here, by ‘big helping’, I mean “break out the big bowls, pile it up high, maximum sized helping”.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gordon McGregor said, on July 30, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Congratulations to Clare. Good to hear. http://www.sofobomo.org/2009/books/Xarra/hidden-coventry/ is her book for those who might be interested.

  2. Xarra said, on July 31, 2009 at 1:12 am

    Sadly I’ve had to take the PDF down – I don’t want the publishers getting annoyed. 🙂

  3. Ove said, on July 31, 2009 at 1:24 am

    That’s awesome, really! Congratulations to you, Clare!

  4. Rosie Perera said, on July 31, 2009 at 9:59 am

    That’s fantastic. Congrats, Clare! You’re an inspiration to us all.

  5. Robert G. Longpré said, on August 2, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    I agree, this is incredible news. Congratulations, Clare! Getting a photo book published is not all that easy, that is why so many of us go the P.O.D. route such as Blurb. Now, this could be made easier if someone could find a good printer and then take on the role of publishing and marketing SoFoBoMo books.

  6. xarra said, on August 4, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Sent the manuscript off today… Phew!


Comments are closed.

