Musings on Photography

Online Portfolio Progress

Posted in Adobe InDesign, book design, Ghost Light, PDF by Paul Butzi on August 27, 2009

II-090821-0576.jpg

So I have a sort of draft version of an online portfolio/very small book.

This is the result of considerable messing about with various alternatives. In the end, I always seem to come back to something along these lines. Compared to what I’ve got for an actual printed book, this has abbreviated front matter. Pages are symmetric; that is, there’s no gutter. The PDF is generated as spreads. I remain uncertain about that particular decision.

You can take a look, here. Comments and suggestions, or even questions – all welcome and positively encouraged. If you’d like a copy of the template from which this was generated, drop me an email; I’m nearly to the stage where I’m ready to share with a small number of people.

Next up – similar PDF portfolios for the other work in this project, along with portfolios for the work I’ve currently got on my static website.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael said, on August 27, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    In your technical details section on page 23, you mention the TS-E 24mm lens as being f/2.8. I believe that meant to write f/3.5.

  2. Paul Butzi said, on August 27, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Michael, you’re right, of course. Thanks.

  3. Peter Szawlowski said, on August 27, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    I have been following with interest your journey – The other day when I was looking for portfolio covers I stumbled on Brooks Jensen’s work with PDF’s.
    http://www.brooksjensenarts.com/pdfpublications.html
    And thought immediately about your efforts in that direction.
    Regards, Peter

  4. Doug Plummer said, on August 27, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    I really like Issuu as a vehicle for displaying pdf books.

  5. Ed Richards said, on August 27, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    Spreads do not work for me. There is no clear separation of the pages, which screws up the zen of the white space. Maybe a page divider line, if want spreads? The images do not seem to relate to each other across the spread, so I would go single page. The front piece looks great, but the images are smaller on the spreads and are thus less effective. Great pictures, BTW.

  6. Rusty said, on August 27, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Hmmm. Liked the title as a single page. Found the spreads for the text introduction showed the type too small to read on my monitor without zooming in. Perhaps single pages on the text component as zooming in/out interferes with the experience IMO.
    But I like the photo spreads. I found the images related well too each other, even when you had a landscape and portrait on the same spread. Putting the portrait to the right side was a good choice.

  7. Martin Doonan said, on August 28, 2009 at 1:02 am

    In counter to Doug P – I don’t like Issuu (or other similar fomats) as a means to display pdf content.

    Not a fan of spreads for online display – images come out too small (you should squint it on the 9″ netbook screen!). Text comes out too small (in general I think slightly larger fonts work better on screen). I’m not decided on white or blac background for on screen display. In some ways I prefer black throughout being the base colour of a screen. And I’m never sure about page numbers for screen display.

    Seems a lot of negative, I know.

    On the constructive – I like to see stuff that displays nice and large and uses the screen area for the images, which cants my preference to single page display, smaller borders. Larger text sizes read better, so I’m actually more inclide to read longer sections than with smalelr fonts.

    The overall slimming down of the structure works well – simple title, less run-in and run-out.


Comments are closed.

