Musings on Photography

Without Spreads

Posted in Adobe InDesign, book design, PDF by Paul Butzi on August 28, 2009

II-090821-0548.jpg

Because so many folks said ‘ditch the spreads’, here’s the same portfolio with spreads turned off. Note that many PDF readers allow you to pair pages.

Side note: I did not spend any time arranging images into pairs to exploit the spread, I just plunked them in the portfolio in chronological order. Interestingly, some people though the arrangement was bad, and some liked it.

I know some people don’t like the page numbers. Page numbers are important because I don’t title images (or caption them) and without some reference number there’s no way to specify a particular image. There are other reasons for page numbers, too – basically all the reasons books have numbered pages.

Comments, as before, welcome.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin Doonan said, on August 31, 2009 at 2:37 am

    Looked through it a few times over the weekend. Works much better as single pages.
    The page numbers actually work well – tucked away at the bottom of the page they are a useful reference without being a distraction. I wondered about the page size/shape but in the end decided it’s a good set-up for the mixed landscape/portrait orientations.
    For an online show, I think I’d be tempted to put the copyright notice at the back with the clophon etc. One difference I note with electronic presentation is that I always go right through to the end page whereas with a print book there is a bunch of run-out material that usually gets skipped. That makes the pages after the main body more useful in an electronic format than a print one.

  2. Ed Richards said, on August 31, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    I understand the need for page numbers. How about a page number in the corner, with a skinny sanserif font, i.e., an inconspicious page number?

  3. Paul Butzi said, on August 31, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    yeah, I get that your ideal page number would be invisible, Ed! 🙂

  4. Amy Sakurai said, on August 31, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Ed: I understand the need for page numbers. How about a page number in the corner, with a skinny sanserif font, i.e., an inconspicious page number?

    Paul: yeah, I get that your ideal page number would be invisible, Ed!

    I find that fading the color works well – a medium to light gray (or light sepia if that matches the images better) – the color adjusted to whatever level of “inconspicuousness” you want.

  5. Paul Butzi said, on August 31, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    excellent suggestion, Amy. Easy to do, too.

  6. Martin Doonan said, on August 31, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    That reminds me – I really dislike pdf page numbering split in sections (such as the (i) form) because then the viewer page numbers don’t line up. For a photobook it’s slightly less annoying but it really gets my goat in books with numbered ToC.


Comments are closed.

