Musings on Photography

Lens Lust, reprise

Posted in equipment by Paul Butzi on September 13, 2009

II-090819-0512.jpg

Just when I thought my recent spate of purchases had tamped down my lens lust, those rotten scoundrels at Canon announce… the 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM.

Not just regular image stabilization – oh, no, that would be insufficient. This lens will have special image stabilization just for macro.

Oh, sure, they also introduced a bunch of other lenses in which I have absolutely no interest. They threw in a couple of zooms, you know, just so that I might not suspect that they’ve been using special telepathic mind rays to peek into my brain while I’m sleeping and create a lens I can’t resist.

Well, I already know about the mind rays, and if this new 100mm Macro has decent out of focus drawing AND the image stabilization really works, I suspect I will have to buy one.

Fooey.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John Taylor said, on September 14, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    heh, my condolences, i’d be in the same boat myself but the symptoms of camera lust have mask all else (i can smell a 7D! …but would rather have whatever they will do with the 5Dmkwhatever to keep ahead of themselves lol)


Comments are closed.

