Musings on Photography

Same words, different melody

Posted in Websites by Paul Butzi on September 19, 2009

II-090817-0430.jpg

Matt Alofs tweeted about having just put new work up on Flickr. I went there, and saw this photo. It immediately made me think of my recent photo, shown above. Well, what it made me think was that I liked Matt’s photo better than mine.

This is amusing. I am not at all sure there’s a causal arrow, and if there is, I’m not sure what direction it might point, nor what it might mean. I’m certainly aware of being influenced by the photos made by other photographers. It’s difficult to imagine someone being influenced by mine, but I suppose it might happen.

But mostly it just made me laugh.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gordon McGregor said, on September 19, 2009 at 11:26 am

    would you call it a chord inversion?

    2nd Street

  2. Chris Sheppard said, on September 20, 2009 at 4:30 am

    Ha, and I was just looking at the image with your “Print/Online” post and it immediately brought to mind one of my own:

    http://csheppard.zenfolio.com/p316616799/h1496c68f#h1496c68f

    Chris

  3. Amy Sakurai said, on September 20, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Dang it. Stood a little too close to my subject. Well… the moment is gone… and I’m busy doing other things… but I just couldn’t resist…

    http://lovelyangel.livejournal.com/671752.html

    (^_^)

  4. matt said, on September 21, 2009 at 7:08 am

    Trees are harder than lampposts. The details are finer, and the subject is more intimidating; I never could draw trees in art class. A lamppost is just way easier, particularly when covered with cryptic graffiti.

  5. Gordon McGregor said, on September 21, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    another half dozen of these and we could have a show


Comments are closed.

