Musings on Photography

Everyday

Posted in art is a verb by Paul Butzi on November 8, 2009

II-091108-1106.jpg

I know there are folks for whom a farm gate is an exotic thing. For me, this gate is everyday. I walk from my house to this gate at least twice a day, every day, rain or shine. The dog and camera go with me on these walks, and although we walk the same path, twice a day, we’re discovering new things, every time. When you see something for the first time, you get the big impression. When you look at it every day, you come to see the subtle changes from day to day – not just how it looks after a rain, but the difference between how it looks after a hard rain and how it looks after a gentle shower.

Today, the drops of water hanging from the top of the gate caught my eye. So my question for the day is this: would I have noticed this if I hadn’t taken the camera on the walk? I’m guessing I wouldn’t. It’s not that a person can’t; I’m sure it’s possible. But for me, the camera is a big help.

That’s why I take the camera.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Markus said, on November 8, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Yes, this approach of carefully selecting through framing, of intensifying the seeing in this process is something that many photographers share. And it’s always interesting (rarely annoying) to get involved in a discussion with those people who condemn the camera as a crutch. Up to now I have reacted in the form of attributing my choice to my private way of recognizing and seeing, but this did not help in every case.

  2. Alex Brikoff said, on November 8, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    A camera can be an extension of your eye, or, maybe even an enhancment of your awareness to your surroundings? My own experience has been that when I’m out with my camera, I, too, notice things that I don’t think I would have noticed if I didn’t have it with me. Or perhaps I’m just looking at my surroundings differently when I’m looking to make a photograph.

  3. Tommy Williams said, on November 8, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    I carry my camera with my as much as I can and I take pictures every day. I find that I notice things even without the camera that I would not have noticed in the days when I wasn’t making pictures daily.

    There’s a different kind of seeing when I have the camera and am looking for pictures. In that mode, I’m looking at everything and considering everything, something I don’t do–or don’t have time to do–when the camera is merely with me.

  4. Infamous J said, on November 9, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    It’s the reason I do carry a camera. I “see” the small un-noticed things everyday, everywhere I go. The camera is to capture the “seeing”, not to help create the “seeing”.


Comments are closed.

