Musings on Photography

Online portfolios

Posted in My Main Website by Paul Butzi on November 27, 2009

II-091113-1329.jpg

I thought I’d point out that one of the reasons for the whole static website revision was moving from html based galleries of images to PDF portfolios.

When I was sorting out what I wanted these PDF portfolios to be like, there was a fair bit of interest but I was reluctant to share until I was fairly set.

You can see what I ended up with at http://www.butzi.net/portfolios.htm. Feedback welcome, of course.

Most modern browsers will display the PDF directly, but if your browser won’t give you an uncluttered full screen view, I think you’ll find it better to download them and view them in a decent PDF viewer that gives an uncluttered fullscreen view – I use Adobe Reader, which is free. If you’re on a Mac, you’ll find that it’s more pleasant to view these in Reader than in the Mac’s Preview app.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John Taylor said, on November 27, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    i Like this fern pic a lot

  2. Gordon McGregor said, on November 27, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    on the mac front, I’ve found that I really, truly, deeply like ‘Skim’ for PDF browsing, rather than Adobe’s reader.

  3. Juha Haataja said, on November 28, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    I used Preview on the Mac, and it was ok, I guess I’m used to the quirks. Impressive image quality considering the relatively small sizes of the PDF files.

  4. James said, on December 3, 2009 at 11:28 am

    “Most modern browsers will display the PDF directly, but if your browser won’t give you an uncluttered full screen view, I think you’ll find it better to download them and view them in a decent PDF viewer that gives an uncluttered fullscreen view – I use Adobe Reader, which is free. If you’re on a Mac, you’ll find that it’s more pleasant to view these in Reader than in the Mac’s Preview app.”

    This made me think of something I observed when playing around with Lightroom slideshows exported as PDFs.

    It seemed to me at the time Reader made the images seem just a bit sharper than Preview. It made no sense to me at the time, and I could have easily been just imagining things, however the observation seemed to stick with multiple viewings and multiple PDFs.

  5. Carl Schofield said, on December 6, 2009 at 11:02 am

    I enjoyed browsing your portfolios – beautiful images and nicely presented. Your portfolio work inspired me to start organizing and presenting some of my own images into portfolios for both print and online viewing (link to my first attempt at this below). Many thanks Paul for the inspiration.

    http://www.schophoto.com/Portfolios/OldMill.pdf


Comments are closed.

