Musings on Photography

Noticing

Posted in art is a verb by Paul Butzi on December 4, 2009

II-091201-1634.jpg

Via Kathleen Conally’s twitter feed:

“Make visible what, without you, might perhaps never have been seen.” – Virginia Woolf

which I think sums up the motivation of a lot of photographers. At least, the desire to get people to see things they wouldn’t otherwise have noticed is something that’s mentioned often in photographer’s artist statements.

I’m good with that sentiment, but…

I’m better with the idea that my photography is about making visible what, without my engagement in the photographic process, might never have been seen by me. If the rest of you benefit, that’s a plus, but it isn’t actually necessary.

[entirely off-topic to this post, Kathleen’s A Walk Through Durham Township photoblog remains, after all these years, one of my favorites.]

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert said, on December 6, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    I just finished my statement and I guess I do have the same sentiment as most photographers. Oh well, it’s good to know that I’m unique, just like everyone else! 🙂

  2. barbaranne423 said, on January 10, 2010 at 5:30 am

    Kathleen brings up a good question. What is the purpose for photography? Is it selfish? Is it to share somethine we would not otherwise see? Is it to help another grow?
    For me, it is capturing that one nano second in time when life is perfect and then sharing it with “whomsoever” shall see.

    barbaranne423
    http://barbaranne-redefiningmylifeafter50.blogspot.com


Comments are closed.

