Musings on Photography

Repeat

Posted in process by Paul Butzi on December 13, 2009

II-091202-1657.jpg

II-091204-1693.jpg

Browsing back through my queue of photos for the blog, I noticed these two. They were made two days apart. The difference in color is due to difference in illumination, but also probably due to differences in how I handled the images on the two different days.

I don’t know for sure I remembered the first photo when I made the second; it’s barely possible that I hadn’t yet processed the first when I made the second exposure. But it’s likely that what happened was that I saw the very similar situation, stepped up close with the camera, and made the second photo despite having the feeling that I’d made the first.

I used to worry about doing this. But I figure that my current working style makes this sort of thing inevitable. That’s partly because, when presented with a similar problem, my brain is going to come up with a similar solution, perhaps tweaked just a bit. It’s also because even if I had clearly remembered making the first photo, I might have made the second because I’ve figured out that, when I’m drawn to the same photo repeatedly, the fast way to get past it is to just make it again. It doesn’t cost anything, often the repeat is a refinement or improvement on the first, and so there’s really no downside to repeating, but a lot of potential upside.

I’ll have to do a bit more thinking on this. It’s interesting that it’s not just the same Mahona nervosa, but almost exactly the same camera position and very similar framing.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin Budden said, on December 15, 2009 at 8:20 am

    How many times did van Gogh paint sunflowers?


Comments are closed.

