Musings on Photography

Seismic

Posted in equipment by Paul Butzi on January 5, 2010

II-091221-1845.jpg

Some years ago, I wrote that I was pretty much of the view that all cameras should come with a tripod permanently attached. Then I bought a Leica M6, the quintessential hand camera, and learned how to make photographs without a tripod. Still, except for the Leicas, my cameras all had Arca-Swiss stye tripod plates permanently affixed, and the Leicas had a RRS made AS plate as well.

Last week, I took the RRS made L-plate off the 5dmkII. My friend Bryan reported some seismic rumblings but so far the earth has not cracked open and let loose Satan’s spawn.

It’s hard to know what to make of this. I went to commune with the main tripod, and found it cowering in the corner weeping.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Eric Jeschke said, on January 5, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Don’t worry it will recover. It’s a healthy move for both of you. 🙂

  2. mike said, on January 7, 2010 at 12:41 am

    “While my Tripod Gently Weeps” — to the Beatles tune….


Comments are closed.

