Musings on Photography

PDF size

Posted in PDF, software, web issues by Paul Butzi on January 15, 2010

II-100110-2045.jpg

Yesterday, I got together with my friend Alex, to go over the process of generating a PDF portfolio. We spent a little time exploring the PDF options you get in the Export menu in InDesign.

What we discovered was that changing the settings to downsample the images to 150 dpi and setting the compression level to ‘medium’ dropped the size of the PDF file generated for one of my online PDF portfolios from 23MB to 8MB.

Even better, looking at the two PDF files side by side and flipping back and forth full screen, we couldn’t see a difference.

I guess I will be generating new PDF files for my static website.

Tagged with:

Comments Off on PDF size

