Musings on Photography

Molting

Posted in equipment by Paul Butzi on January 20, 2010

  II-100110-2039.jpg

I’ve been engaged in the photographic equivalent of molting – getting rid of a lot of old equipment I no longer use. The film processing stuff is gone. The rest of the darkroom stuff will be gone soon. And new stuff is coming in, of course – just not as much as the old stuff going out.

Yesterday, I gathered up a big pile of lenses, camera bodies (including the much beloved Canon EOS-5d and the long time favorite 100mm f/2.8 macro), and took them to the local camera store, where I traded them in against an order for a Leica M9 and a Canon 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS.

It’s amazing how much stuff you can accumulate over time. Some of that stuff has some very fond memories attached. But I feel surprisingly released – I hadn’t realized how much *stuff* there was and how much emotional drag it generated. And I’m very much looking forward to that M9.

Off, now, to take a walk with the new lens and the old dog.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin Doonan said, on January 20, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    You’re going to have trouble mounting that Canon lens on the M9 😉

    mmmm…M9

  2. Mike said, on January 21, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Yep, the obsolete before it was born M9 is tempting me too. Not quite out of my 1Ds3, but certainly it’s a draw against the film kit…

    Mike

  3. Alex Brikoff said, on January 21, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    I’m glad you purged all your old film gear, Paul! Even though you were still undecided about the M9 last week, I knew it would be just a matter of time before you’d succumb to the “call” of the Leica! Congrats!!

  4. StephaneB said, on January 26, 2010 at 2:43 am

    Did you know Leica is actually celebrating Mao Zedong by producing golden MP cameras with Mao slogans engraved on them? This to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Chinese people enslavement.

    I really like their products, but this disgusts me and puts me seriously off giving them money. I certainly do not want to indirectly sponsor the Chinese dictatorship.

    Example of related article here: http://www.itechnews.net/2010/01/24/leica-mp-golden-camera-limited-edition-for-60th-anniversary-of-peoples-republic-of-china/

  5. Paul Butzi said, on January 26, 2010 at 9:08 am

    I agree that a ’60th Anniversary Mao Commemorative’ M9 is disgusting.

    I imagine, though, that buying an M9 does little in the way of sponsoring the Chinese Government, since it seems likely that the PRC commissioned this series, and is paying Leica to do the work.

    If you want to avoid helping the PRC, I’d suggest looking for those companies which are helping maintain strict control of information. Google comes to mind as a company that was, at least until recently, happily serving the oppression needs of the Chinese government. So much for “Don’t be evil”.

  6. StephaneB said, on January 26, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Paul, I must say I agree with your reply. I cannot really stop to give them money either. Just today I brought my M6 in for a repair…


Comments are closed.

