Musings on Photography

The problem

Posted in equipment, Uncategorized by Paul Butzi on January 29, 2010

II-100127-2276.jpg

The problem with buying something like the M9 (now known far and wide as “That pretentious piece of crap that serves only as a tool for the undeservingly wealthy to oppress the downtrodden masses yearning to breath free”) is that it is backordered.

And that means that I am spending time sitting around thinking about it, which is pointless, instead of going out and making photographs, which is something that would improve my life and thus is not pointless (at least to me).

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My Camera World said, on January 29, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    That last statement reminded me of an old animated TV movie (1971) “The Point” which I saw and at that time and I still remember it today.

    as quoted from the site;”
    Written and directed by Grammy Award-winner Harry Nilsson and directed by Fre Wolf, “The Point” tells the story of Bolio, a round-headed boy living in the land of “Point,” where everything and everybody has one. Obio, along with his trusty dog, Arrow, is banished to the Pointless Forest. Once there, the adventure begins. The tale is narrated by Ringo Starr and includes songs written and sung by Harry Nilsson.

    The animated tale about the round-headed child, Oblio, born into a world where everything and everyone has a point, and his faithful dog Arrow, narrated by Ringo Starr and featuring the Harry Nilsson song “Me and My Arrow.”

    I do hope the wait is not long.

    Niels Henriksen

  2. tychay said, on January 29, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    I empathize with that sort of photo lust. I’m lucky since I own an M8 and don’t plan on ordering an M9… at least not yet. It’s weird that before one orders a new camera you have no problem shooting the old one. Suddenly, it becomes no longer good enough.

    Enjoy the M9 when it comes. Lookin gofrward the the pictures.

  3. Patrick said, on January 29, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Well gee thanks everyone for all this

    🙂

  4. Chris Klug said, on January 29, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    I vividly remember Oblio, so thanks for that reference.

    If I may ask, as one of your readers who would love to own an M9 (liking both Leica glass and the rangefinder way of seeing) I am curious about your thoughts as to what images with this camera might bring you?

  5. Paul said, on January 31, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Don’t worry once it arrives it will become a new thoughtless camera without postage stamp negatives!


Comments are closed.

