Musings on Photography

Leica M9 Firmware update 1.116

Posted in Leica M9 by Paul Butzi on March 17, 2010

ra-100315-0428.jpg

I just downloaded firmware update 1.116 for the Leica M9, and installed it in my M9. So far, so good.

The instructions say that it will take the camera 180 seconds to perform the update process. I imagine this is dependent on the SDHC card used. I used a SanDisk Extreme 30MB/s class 10 SDHC card. My camera performed the update in 1 minute, 48 seconds.

The big improvement I noticed in the notes that came with the update was the mention that formatting SD/SDHC cards was faster.

Before the update, my camera formatted the card mentioned above in 56.1 seconds. After the update, it formatted the same card in 5 seconds. Whoo!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mike said, on March 19, 2010 at 4:41 am

    Was the first formatting a system format (like we used to do on fresh hard drives) where the sectors have to be defined and written to? Or is it just freeing up space on an already formatted drive?

  2. Paul Butzi said, on March 19, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Was the first formatting a system format (like we used to do on fresh hard drives) where the sectors have to be defined and written to?

    No, both operations were just writing an empty filesystem onto the card, so the two operations were identical.

    Interestingly, after the update the name of the filesystem is no longer ‘NO NAME’ and is now “LEICA” or something similar. While not a big deal, that ‘NO NAME’ irked me considerably.


Comments are closed.

