Musings on Photography

Well, crud

Posted in EOS 5d mark II by Paul Butzi on March 18, 2010

ra-100315-0379.jpg

Yesterday, figuring enough time had passed since the release of each firmware update, I updated the firmware in both my Leica M9 and my Canon EOS 5DmkII.

Today, Canon retracted the firmware update I installed yesterday.

I note that they have not given me a way to restore the firmware that was working just fine for me, the jerks.

Truly, this is a development that puts the icing on an day in which I had already used up the day’s allotment of bad words and moved on to inventing new bad words, the use of which is unregulated. Bad words with lots of hard consonants, and fricatives.

And in fact, that’s what I think of Canon right now. What a bunch of plosive fricatives! It’s a good thing they are not here, if I could get my hands on the person responsible for this, I’d give them a glottal stop they wouldn’t soon forget, let me tell you.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alex Brikoff said, on March 18, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Yeah, I’ve had days like that! Basically, chalk up the whole day as an “Oh, s*** day!!”. The good news in all that frustration is that the next day is usually an opportunity to have an “Oh, WOW day!!” in which everything just happens to go your way and properly falls in place. Hope you have an “Oh, WOW day!!” tomorrow, Paul!!

  2. Frank said, on March 18, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, I say. I know there have been a couple of firmware updates for the 5D2, but mine is doing everything I want it to do. I have not bothered, and don’t plan to bother. What demon possessed you to update?

  3. Paul Butzi said, on March 19, 2010 at 11:04 am

    I have, in the past, gotten bitten by firmware bugs only to discover that there was an available update that fixed the bug.

    So as a *general* thing, I tend to pick up updates after giving the world a few days to try them out.

    Clearly, I cut that waiting period somewhat short in this case.

  4. agesilaus said, on March 19, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    Canon already has 2.0.4 up and available. So you don’t need a roll back. Darned fast for Canon

  5. James Spears said, on March 19, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    Canon 5D firmware retracted? So did Leica M9! Today March 19. See e.mail I got after noting flaws:

    Dear Mr. Spears.

    Thank you very much for your request at Leica CS-Support.

    The new firmware version 1.116 for your Leica M9 has occurred in spite of extensive tests failed.

    The camera turns off automatically after the set time menu, auto power off “after the shutter release button is pressed.
    The shutdown also occurs if viewed images on the display or be made in the Settings menu.
    Similarly, the camera can be switched off automatically during data transfers.
    To avoid this, we ask you to turn off menu, the Auto Power Off “, or adjust to the longest time interval (10 minutes).
    Please keep in mind that the camera shuts off automatically, but after the 10 minutes!

    We do not recommend your data directly from the camera to transfer rights to use an external card reader for this please!

    We are trying to rectify this error as soon as possible and working on the provision of a new firmware version. The time to do it, we will announce as soon as possible.

    Mit freundlichen Gruessen / kind regards

    Oliver Vogler


Comments are closed.

