Musings on Photography

Elizabethan

Posted in Ghost Light by Paul Butzi on March 31, 2010

II-100328-2722.jpg  II-100328-2692.jpg II-100327-2642.jpg

My friend Bill and I made some progress on our theatre photography project this past weekend when we got the chance to photograph in the Elizabethan theatre in Ashland, OR. It’s a fabulous space, and we learned a lot of new things photographing in an outdoor theatre for the first time. The only downside to this outing was that the theatre was still full of tarps to protect things from the weather. We’ll be going back, probably to photograph the theatre on a Monday evening (when the theatre would ordinarily be dark).

One of the delights of this project has been how helpful the folks at various theatres have been, giving us unrestricted access to the theatres, working to find time slots when we can photograph, and so on. Oregon Shakespeare Festival is no exception; we can’t possibly thank them enough.

I have to say that when we started this project, I didn’t think the weather sealing on my camera gear would be a consideration. Things don’t always work out quite the way you envision, and that can be a good thing.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. snoflo said, on March 31, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Superb pictures

  2. John Taylor said, on April 2, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Awesome, i knew where these were before reading the title as i’ve enjoyed many a play in that theatre over the years. Ashland was my home town for the last 21 years, prior to moving to Baltimore last summer.

  3. Paul Butzi said, on April 2, 2010 at 7:49 am

    I don’t know how many performances my wife and I have seen in the Lizzie, but it’s not a small number.

    So far I’ve not photographed a theatre where I’ve never seen a performance. As we expand the project out from areas where we attend theatre, I’m wondering what it will be like to photograph a theatre that’s unfamiliar.


Comments are closed.

