Musings on Photography

Untitled

Posted in Leica M9 by Paul Butzi on April 24, 2010

ra-100421-0759.jpg ra-100421-0758.jpg

We’ve had these plastic chairs for a long time, now – I’m pretty sure they’re at least 20 years old. They’re sort of ratty but part of the reason I don’t throw them out is that I love the way they look in diffuse light. I have no idea of how many photographs of them I’ve made – hundreds, I’m sure.

And I’m a complete sucker for these green hoses. They’re common as dirt; I see them everywhere, and I’m powerless to resist the siren call of the strange green color contrasted against whatever the hose is on.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Will said, on April 24, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    My two year old likes the picture of the hose:
    Looks.
    “It’s wet!”
    pause.
    “It got water on it.”
    “It muddy!”

    Will

  2. Billie said, on April 24, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Paul, I think chairs are another common theme with photographers. There is some emotion that is stirred when we see empty chairs. Maybe the spirits of those who have sat there are still around. Of course, I too like the graphic that the chairs or their shadow can create.

  3. cataclog said, on April 24, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    I do like the variety of tones on the chairs.

    I’ll bet you’re the only person to keep old chairs just because of the way they look in a certain light!

  4. Tommy Williams said, on April 24, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    I thought I was the only one drawn to green hoses like that. I’ll confess that I gave in to peer pressure years ago and stopped making photos of them because it seemed no one but me liked them–so I assumed that I must be off-kilter somehow.

    Thanks for the reminder that we should photograph what we like, no matter what the rest of the world thinks.

    And be thankful that we don’t pay the bills with our photos. 🙂

  5. Anita Jesse said, on April 25, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Billie said it beautifully. There is that something about empty chairs and their eloquence.
    On the other hand, I can’t say that I have ever been attracted to green hoses (or any other color for that matter). But, I certainly do appreciate the tones, lines, and textures in this photo.

  6. Alex Brikoff said, on April 26, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Chairs are one of my favorite things to photograph as well. Although I have to admit that I’m a bit more selective in that I particularly like wooden and wrought iron chairs myself.


Comments are closed.

