Musings on Photography

The Canon Tax

Posted in Canon EF 24mm f/3.5 TS-E by Paul Butzi on April 30, 2010

ra-100419-0729.jpg

I see that Adobe have just started letting folks who have ordered Photoshop CS5 start downloading it. And here, just today, I installed PS CS4 on my newly upgraded to Snow Leopard Mac Pro. I am clearly behind the times. I suppose I’ll have to budget for paying the Adobe tax in the not so distant future, unless I can figure some way out of the Photoshop trap.

A more urgent need, though, is my need to pay the Canon Tax.

Once again, those evil bastards at Canon have used their remote mind examination ray and peered into the recesses of my brain. The result, alas, is that they’ve introduced (some while ago, actually) the Canon EF 24mm TS-E II and the Canon EF 17mm TS-E. I’ve mentioned both of those lenses before. Just recently, though, I had a chance to use a rented 17mm TS-E.

It was, in a word, awesome. Somehow or other, I need to make sure that from now on, when I go into theatres, this lens is in my bag (or in Bill’s bag). It’s an amazing lens. It’s an incredible optical performer.

This throw the harsh light on my current 24mm TS-E, which is the old model. Compared to the new model, it’s a slouch. I suspect that in the not very distant future I’ll sell the old one and buy the new one.

Canon tax. I would hate it, but they just keep offering stuff that’s better and better. I can sometimes resist the siren call to upgrade, but both of these are enough of a leap that I’m probably past the point of no return already.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anita Jesse said, on April 30, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    There is something quite devilish about the way these companies come out with upgrades that tap into our greatest needs. Oh, okay, desires. But, somehow the difference between those two gets all fuzzy, doesn’t it?

  2. Colin Griffiths said, on May 1, 2010 at 12:37 am

    Funny that, I just bought a mint 24mm Mk1 TS-E after reading some older comments on this blog. I figured that I could buy a new 45mm and a used 24mm for the price of a new 24mm MkII and convinced myself that it was a bargain!

  3. Adam Maas said, on May 1, 2010 at 6:01 am

    If you are on a Mac, there’s compelling reasons to go CS5, mostly in that it’s finally a true OS X app (Cocoa instead of Carbon). Only took Adobe 10 years. For Windows users it’s less compelling.

    Personally, I’m still on CS3 although I’ll likely go CS5 in the fall when the student packages become available.

  4. Dennis Allshouse said, on May 1, 2010 at 8:19 am

    Paul, thank you for reply in the previous SL post particularly regarding the Bamboo. Anyway I was going to suggest foregoing CS5 until I read Adam’s post above. Although I’ve dabbled in Cocoa programming in the past, I can’t speak to Carbon versus Cocoa. Maybe Adam could amplify his remarks if he sees this. I’m using Aperture 3 currently which I find very usable particularly the data management directly integrated with image editing. There is no Bridge to Camera Raw to PhotoShop trajectory. Seems more seamless.

  5. Adam Maas said, on May 2, 2010 at 5:49 am

    Carbon was the API from the late classic Mac OS which also was OS X capable. Applications built against Carbon could be native to OS X but could not take full advantage of OS X’s capabilities, especially with regards to memory on new 64-bit systems. Using Cocoa allows you full access to OS X’s capabilities as well as the ability to build 64-bit capable applications.

  6. Dennis Allshouse said, on May 2, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    Thanks! Seems like 64 bits was the final straw?


Comments are closed.

