Musings on Photography

upgrade

Posted in macintosh, photoshop by Paul Butzi on April 30, 2010

ra-100420-0749.jpg

Well, it might not be wise, but I’m in the process of upgrading all our computers to Snow Leopard. First up is the Mac Pro, on which I do all photo work. I have just a few more things to do to get it all done, although I’ve not yet tackled getting printing working. That may be the big hurdle, I don’t know.

To my amazement, getting Photoshop and InDesign activated went without a hitch.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dennis Allshouse said, on April 30, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    I hope you are aware of the printing issues which have been mentioned by Ctein on the TheOnlinePhotographer. Specifically relates to a Software Update to x.0.2, I think. The issue seems to involve printing targets for profiling along the lines of you can’t print an image with NO profile.

    Here’s a refer to the article: http://theonlinephotographer.typepad.com/the_online_photographer/2010/03/printer-hell-the-epson-cs4-snow-leopard-dysfunction.html

    I haven’t upgraded to SL and I don’t profile myself, so this is all hearsay to me.

    BTW, did you ever get anywhere with you’re Bamboo tablet? I noticed my local Apple store carries it which got me to thinking about you article a while back.

  2. Paul Butzi said, on April 30, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Dennis, I was aware of the problems various folks have had printing from 10.6.3, and I’d seen the Ctein article before.

    So I was concerned. But my case is *somewhat special*.

    First, it’s my printer (a HP DesignJet z3100) that prints the targets, scans them, and generates the profiles, independent of the computer. So I’m off the hook on the “Can’t print without a profile” issue. Score one problem neatly avoided.

    Second, the profiles generated by the z3100 are version 2.0.0 profiles. So I neatly sidestep the OTHER problem, that version 4 profiles don’t work on 10.6.3.

    I knew all this in advance, but of course there’s having a theoretical reason why you won’t get messed up, and actually finding out that the whole thing works.

    I just a nice print from PS CS4 to the z3100 on Harman Gloss FBAL, and the print came out fine.

    So it would appear that although a lot of other folks are in the weeds, I’m ok.

    I still have the bamboo tablet. It’s ok but not great. If it died, I’d not replace it.

    I’m tempted to try the Apple magic mouse, but I’ll go to the apple store and fiddle with one first.


Comments are closed.

