Musings on Photography

Travel Photography

Posted in Canon Powershot G9, equipment by Paul Butzi on November 7, 2007

G9-20071016-1097
Just a few random thoughts to satisfy the curiosity of those who wondered what photo gear I dragged throughout China.

The camera equipment all fit into a very small (7″ x 5″ x1.5″) soft Eagle Creek packing thingie.

Inside were:

  • Canon Powershot G9 with the shoulder strap taken off and a wrist strap added.
  • 4 4GB Lexar Professional 133x SDHC cards
  • one Lexar USB SDHC card reader
  • two NB-2LH Canon brand lithium ion batteries for the G9
  • the Canon charger for the batteries
  • one 250GB Western Digital Passport external USB hard disk and USB cable

In addition to this bag of photo stuff, I also had an Apple 15″ Macbook Pro and one of those plug converters to allow me to plug my gear into the various strange outlets used in China.

My practice was that at the end of each day, I’d download everything off the SDHC cards onto the laptop, duplicate it all onto the external disk, and wipe the cards. Batteries got recharged each evening, when I remembered.

The laptop and the hard disk always lived in different bags, so that if I lost one, I still had a chance at having the photos taken so far.

This setup worked very well, I was very pleased.

Comments Off on Travel Photography